INTRODUCING THE KRAFT HOCKEYVILLE 2017 WINNER! O'Leary Community Sports Centre

O'Leary Community Sports Centre

  • Location:

    O'Leary, PE

  • Published On:

    February 05, 2017

  • Nominated By:

    Della Sweet

1. How would you describe your community’s passion and spirit for hockey?

All-encompassing! Passion for hockey in our community is not about a single moment, a single event, a championship team or even hosting a NHL training camp in our small rural community. Our passion is about how hockey has shaped us, our connections, relationships, our actions, a desire to do better, to be better people, to have fun, to play together, and to be there for each other. In tough times in our history when we lost our rink due to a roof collapse and another time to a fire, our community came together to put that rink right back up so that hockey could continue to be our common denominator. Generations before us showed us our true love of hockey by their actions, our generation continues this spirit. Nowhere is our passion for hockey on display more than on the faces at the rink every single day, but the volunteer initiative, 4 years in the making, 220 page award winning book, HOCKEYTOWN PEI, The Story of Hockey in O’Leary Prince Edward Island is a very close second!

2. What arena project would most benefit from the prize money? Please specifically identify how the $100,000 might be used to upgrade your arena and the impact this would have on your community

We are proud of our arena. Our ice maker has been making ice in O’Leary for 35 years and our reputation of having one of the finest sheets of ice around is quite well-known. While the not for profit board has been diligent in ensuring the ice making is always at the top of the game, after 25 years we have some much needed upgrades to bring our rink up to standards. The entryway, lobby area, canteen, viewing area and public washrooms need a total redesign and reconstruction to meet much needed accessibility and efficiency standards that will be more inclusive for all our residents and visitors. The Rink Board participates in weekly fundraisers to assist with operational costs, these must continue. Winning $100,000 would be so beneficial to improving our rink structure for safety, accessibility and efficiency. The upgrades will be an economic benefit to our community as well as we will be much better positioned to bid on hosting major tournaments and events.

3. Why should your community be the next Kraft Hockeyville?

In O’Leary we are a hockey crazy community. So hockey crazy that artists paint murals about our love for the game, songwriters write and sing songs about the beloved Maroons, animators make hockey cartoons about our hockey fun, we have parades to celebrate our hockey passion, we pack 1000 fans in our rink on a Saturday night Maroons game, we punch way above our weight class when hosting major events at our rink, boys play, girls play, everyone plays, volunteers make things happen and everyone has a hockey story and loves to tell their story. And yes we write books about our hockey passion. We know it's just a game, but because of the fun we have with hockey, in our hearts, it's everything to us. Our puck palace needs major upgrades and words cannot even begin to describe what having a NHL game would mean to us… O’Leary has all the right ingredients to be KRAFT HOCKEYVILLE 2017… and let's not forget folks, ketchup loves potatoes!

Join the conversation about this community!

Post your photos here

Use the hashtag #KRAFTHOCKEYVILLE when posting on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram

Comments
Twitter

VOICI LA GAGNANTE DU TITRE DE KRAFT HOCKEYVILLE 2017! O'Leary Community Sports Centre

O'Leary Community Sports Centre

  • Ville :

    O'Leary, PE

  • Publié le :

    février 05, 2017

  • Mise en Candidature Par :

    Della Sweet

1. COMMENT DÉCRIVERIEZ-VOUS L’ESPRIT SPORTIF ET LA PASSION POUR LE HOCKEY DE VOTRE COMMUNAUTÉ?

La passion pour le hockey dans notre communauté n'est pas seulement un moment, un seul événement, un championnat ou même d'être hôte à un camp de la LNH dans notre petite communauté. Notre passion provient de la façon dont le hockey nous a formé, nos connections, nos relations, nos actions, un désir de faire mieux, d'être de meilleures personnes, d'avoir du plaisir, jouer ensemble et d'être présent l'un pour l'autre. Durant les périodes difficiles de notre histoire quand nous avons perdu notre patinoire dû au toit qui s'est effondré et encore une fois dû à un feu, notre communauté a réuni ses efforts pour rebâtir l'aréna pour que le hockey puisse continuer d'être le dénominateur commun. Des générations avant nous nous ont démontré ce qu'est l'amour véritable pour le hockey avec leurs actions, notre génération continue cet esprit. Notre passion est le plus en évidence sur nos visages à l'aréna à chaque jour, mais elle est aussi démontrée dans l'initiative bénévole du livre primé de 220 pages qui à prit 4 ans à compléter, HOCKEYTOWN PEI, The Story of Hockey in O'Leary Prince Edward Island.

2. À quel projet relatif à l'aréna le prix en argent profiterait-il le plus? Veuillez décrire avec précision comment les 100 000 $ pourraient être utilisés pour améliorer votre aréna et son incidence sur votre communauté.

Nous sommes fiers de notre aréna. La personne qui prépare notre patinoire, le fait depuis 35 ans à O'Leary et nous sommes connus comme ayant une des plus belles glaces. Bien que le conseil à but non lucratif s'assure consciencieusement que la patinoire soit toujours à son meilleur, après 25 ans nous avons plusieurs améliorations à porter à notre aréna pour qu'elle rencontre les normes. L'entrés, le vestibule, la cantine, la zone de visionnement et les salles de bains, publiques ont tous besoins d'être conçus différemment et reconstruit pour rencontrer les règlements d'accessibilité et efficacité qui pourra accommoder pour tous nos résidents et visiteurs. Le conseil de l'aréna participe à des levé de fonds à chaque semaine pour soutenir les coûts opérationnels, ceux-ci doivent continuer. Gagner $100,000 serait tellement bénéfique pour améliorer la structure de notre aréna pour la sécurité, l'accessibilité et l'efficacité. Les mises-jours augmenteraient la valeur de notre communauté et nous positionnerait pour être des candidats pour accueillir des tournois et des événements.

3. Pourquoi votre communauté devrait-elle être la prochaine Kraft Hockeyville?

À O'Leary, nous sommes une communauté fanatique du hockey. Nous sommes tellement fous du hockey que des murales sur notre amour du jeu sont peint par des artistes, des chanteurs écrivent des chansons sur les Maroons bien-aimé, les dessinateurs bases des dessins animé sur notre plaisir du hockey, nous avons des parades pour célébrer notre passion pour le hockey, nous rentrons 1000 fans dans notre aréna pour le match des Maroons du samedi soir, nous sommes ambitieux quant aux événements majeurs à notre aréna, les garçons jouent, les filles jouent, tout le monde joue, les bénévoles font en sorte que tout fonctionne bien et tout le monde à une histoire de hockey à compter. Et oui, nous écrivons des livres sur notre passion pour le hockey. Nous savons que c'est seulement un jeu mais à cause du plaisir que cela nous porte, le hockey est tout pour nous. Notre château de la rondelle à besoin de mise-à-jours majeures et d'avoir un match de la LNH ici, nous ne pouvons pas décrire ce que cela vaudrait pour nous … O'Leary a tous les ingrédients nécessaires pour être KRAFT HOCKEYVILLE 2017 … et n'oublions pas, le ketchup aime les patates!

PARTICIPEZ À LA CONVERSATION AU SUJET DE CETTE COMMUNAUTÉ

Affichez vos photos ici
Utilisez le hashtag #KRAFTHOCKEYVILLE quand vous affichez sur Facebook, Twitter et Instagram.
Commentaires
Twitter